User roles and rights

Owners, administrators, and users (members/guests). The difference between their rights on the Desktop workspace.

Desktop.com defines  four different user groups:



Owner

The user who created a Business account

Administrator (Admin)

The user with the rights to manage users, teams, and desktops within the Business account

Member

Members of the Business Account, that are invited by the owner or administrator to be part of the account

Guest user

 

A guest user can be invited to a Personal Premium or Business account. Guest users can be invited to a desktop created by a member of the Business account (owner, admin, member) or the owner of the Personal Premium account. A guest can be part of one or more desktops within an account they are invited to.

 

Workspace administration

 

 

Pro/Enterprise

Free

Permission / role

Owner

Admin

Member

Guest

Owner

Admin

Member

View workspace profile

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage workspace profile

✔️

✔️

View users list

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

User / Manage user

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

User / Suspend user

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

User / Delete user

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

User / Transfer ownership

✔️

✔️

Invite users to account

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Revoke invitations

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Resend invitations

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage teams

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage desktops

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

View Billing & plan

✔️

✔️

N/A

N/A

N/A

Manage Billing & plan

✔️

N/A

N/A

N/A

Manage SSO apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Custom apps / Create custom apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Custom apps / Edit custom apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

 

Desktop administration

 

 

Pro/Enterprise

Free

Permission / role

Owner

Admin

Member

Guest

Owner

Admin

Member

               

Account profile and settings

             

Manage My profile

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage Preferences

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

               

Desktops

             

View Favorites

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

View Recent

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

View chat

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Global search (apps, links, chat)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

See timeline for a desktop (that you are a member of)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

See members list for a desktop (that you are a member of)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

See notifications for a desktop (that you are a member of)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

               

View Private desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Private desktop / Manage apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Private desktop / Manage links

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

               

Workspace desktops 

             

Create a new desktop

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

Manage users from the desktop (see Workspace administration)

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

View / open apps on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage apps on the desktop

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

Search for apps on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Mark apps as favorites

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

View / open links on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage links on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Search for links on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

Mark links as favorites

✔️

✔️

✔️

N/A

✔️

✔️

✔️

               

My desktops

             

Create a new desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Edit desktop name and description (only if the user is the creator of the desktop)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage users for the desktop (only if the user is the creator of the desktop)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

View / open apps on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage apps on the desktop (only if the user is the creator of the desktop)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Search for apps on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

View / open links on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage links on the desktop

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

               

App Store

             

Add apps from the App store (if you are allowed to manage apps on the desktop)

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Manage SSO apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Custom apps / Create custom apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️

Custom apps / Edit custom apps

✔️

✔️

✔️

✔️